top of page
Search
wccsprojects

Ringo has a new EP...And it's pretty good

By Wyatt Sutton

From WCCS


When I first heard that Ringo Starr was releasing a new EP I, like most people, probably thought, "Oh that's nice." And didn't think much else about it. You see out of the four Beatles Ringo has probably released the least acclaimed music since the bands breakup fifty-one years ago, and I didn't think that this EP would be anything new. I thought it would just be more of the same that we had heard from him before.


And then I listened to it. And to be fair I was right. It was the same as we had had before. It didn't sound like anything different it sounded like Ringo.


And then I remembered something. Ringo was a Beatle. Ringo is awesome. And then my Dad said something to me that really put this all together. He said that his songs sound the same as they always have, that these songs are basically the songs Ringo did as a Beatle. Then I realized how this EP was actually pretty good.


If you think of the other Beatles in their post-Beatles career they all sound pretty different then what they were able to create together, and some of their best songs came from the post-Beatle part of their careers. The same can't really be said for Ringo. While everyone else went on their own different path it seems like Ringo figured out what he was good at early on and has just stuck with it. But that's not a bad thing, rather that's the the beauty of it all because Ringo is so consistent. You know what Ringo is going to give you, and because of that you aren't surprised when he gives you four fun songs to listen to. Will any of these songs redefine the music industry or be the #1 song this year? No. But that doesn't mean they are any less good than what Ringo was able to do with one of, if not the, best band of all time.


So if you love songs like "Yellow Submarine" or "Octopus's Garden" then please listen to this EP. It's a feel good time that won't leave you wanting more because you know what you're going to get, and that's a good time.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"WE ARE" Review

By Raymond Fuller From WCCS The new album by Jon Batiste, band leader for the Late Show, is one of the best things that I have heard in...

Green to Gold: The Antlers

By Wyatt Sutton From WCCS I'll admit it, when most people suggest indie music to listen to or tell me about a new band that they love, I...

Comments


bottom of page